Making your Goals Measurable

This is part 3 of my Turning Your Dreams Into Goals if you missed part 1 and 2 you can read them by clicking here:  Setting Goals: Make a Difference Monday and Let’s Turn Your Dreams into Goals

life'slikeabicycle

Today I want to touch on making your goals measurable.  It’s easy to say that I’m going to do something, but without accountability and a way to track your progress you probably won’t stick with it.  The whole idea of having a dream and turning it into a goal is to follow through.  I created a little worksheet that you can print out that you can use to follow my path of attaining your dreams.  Goal Setting Worksheet.  Fill it out and put it somewhere that you can review it and look at it everyday.

I would love feedback as to whether this helped you follow through and attain your dreams, please send feedback to momswhocan@gmail.com

So, following along with my goal to lose 10 pounds I am going to break apart how to measure my progress by putting together an action plan:

  • Goal: I am going to weigh and measure myself starting today
    • Action: I will re-measure and weigh in 2 weeks
    • due date: today and again in 2 weeks
  • Goal: I am going to track my calories each day
    • Action: I will download a tracking ap on my phone
    • due date: Today
  • Goal: Eat 100 calories per hour for the next 2 weeks; not to exceed 1300 calories per day
    • Action: research dinners under 400 calories and plan 2 weeks of meals
    • due date: 2 days
    • Action: write down and purchase veggies, fruits and snacks that are 100 calories or less
    • due date: 2 days
    • Action: Go Shopping
    • due date: 2 days
  • I am going to fill out **my health assessment** as I begin so that I can compare in 2 weeks.
    • Action: Fill out my health assessment
    • due date: 2 days
    • Action: Fill out 2 week health assessment
    • due date: 2 weeks
  • Goal: I am going to take my before picture
    • Action: take before picture
    • due date: Today
  • I am going to exercise 2-3 days for 30 minutes each day for the next 2 weeks.
    • Action: set myself 30 minutes out of my day for 2-3 days on my calendar: make a date with myself
    • due date: Today

So, I have my goals figured out and an action plan in place to carry out those goals.  At the end of my 2 weeks am going to assess myself based on what I accomplished/didn’t accomplish and measure if I achieved my plan of action for the 2 week span.

At the bottom of my Goal Setting Worksheet I ask, is this realistic?  Stop for a minute and think about whether what you have set for yourself is realistic.  Maybe you need to finish something in 2 weeks that you have only given yourself 2 days to do.  Maybe you need to break one action into several to make it more realistic.  When you have completed your actions and accomplished them write the date in BIG BOLD writing at the bottom so you know you achieved what you set out to do.

This helps you feel better about your success and gives you incentive to grab the next set of tasks and accomplish them as well.  At the end, in my case in 2 weeks, start a new sheet with new action items and tasks to complete to work toward your ultimate goal or, if you achieved what you dream of give yourself a big pat on the back and move to your next dream.

Ideally you should set specific dates “this Friday” “June 17” as your due dates.  This is just a quick example.  Now, let’s get to work!

Have a great week and let’s “Keep Moving”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making your Goals Measurable

  1. Pingback: Let’s Turn Your Dreams into Goals | Moms Who Can

  2. Hello beautiful! Great post. Pinned and tweeted. I hope to see you on Monday at 7pm because we love to party with you! Happy Memorial Day! Lou Lou Girls

    Like

Leave a Reply

