Healthy Eating

For Baby Step #3: JUST DO IT!

With myself, too often I get caught up in the planning and preparing and I never just jump in and get started.  I’ve found that if I take one day per week and plan out our snacks and meals for the coming week- that planning and preparing is enough to get me though and if that’s what is in the house to eat- that’s what we eat.

Make the commitment to yourself TODAY that you are going to give it a try.  You’ll never know what you can do until you try it.

When my husband suggested that we start eating 100 calories per hour I thought “no way can I do that for more than a few days.”  I’ve found that I and my body thrive when I eat healthier.  I am choosing healthier and I feel so much better.  My energy and overall attitude is just better because I feel better.

On occasion I crave something sweet (usually some kind of a pastry because I don’t include a lot of carbs in my meals) If I crave it then I try to substitute with a fruit to see if that does the trick- if it doesn’t I pick one day that I can add that to my calories for the day.  The key is to not go overboard.  Make your sweet cravings a ‘treat’ instead of a daily occurrence.

In our house the daily question after we ate dinner was what is for dessert.  Every day we were eating some kind of high sugar, high calorie, high fat treat.  It wasn’t until I started tracking what I was eating that I realized how bad I was eating.

An example of what I eat:

7:30- Instant Oatmeal (about 130 calories)

9:00- Light Yogurt (you choose- I choose Yoplait Light it is 90 calories and is cheaper than the greek yogurts: but choose what you like)  My husband puts a couple pinches of cracked wheat and rolled oats in his yogurt.  It is yummy and adds a little volume to it to help you feel fuller

10:00- Snap peas (about 1 cup) This doesn’t give you 100 calories, so you may add to it if you would like

11:00- Grapes (about 1 cup)

12:30- Lunch (I usually eat lunch meat and cheese; you can have tuna and celery sticks: be creative.  I usually try to eat 200 calories for lunch)

2:00- Carrot Sticks (100 calories)

3:00- Strawberries (about 1 cup)

4:00- Celery Sticks (I will also add a healthy peanut butter if I need more calories)

6:00- I try to cook a 300-400 calorie dinner: I’ll post some ideas as we go.  One of our favorites is Fruit Chicken Salad.  I try to get as much protein in my dinner as I can.

I try not to eat after 8:00 p.m. if I get a little hungry after dinner I will have a fruit or vegetable.

One thing that I have been trying to find more of is proteins.  I have noticed that I do very well eating my fruits and vegetables, but I’m lacking in protein.  If I have some jerky around I’ll eat it on one of my hours.

We started out following this plan for 5 days and then Saturday and Sunday was free day.  We ate what we wanted as long as we stayed under 2000 calories.  This has become such a healthy habit that we find ourselves unknowingly following this structure 6 sometimes all 7 days of the week.

Please feel free to comment or share your favorite low calorie meals or snacks.  I love new ideas.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

